Partner Post: Inspiring Readers

Beckie, author of Girl-Woman-Beauty-Brains Blog recently wrote the following post to her readers. Sometimes as bloggers we forget that our words, whether written for recreation or education, can have an unintentional impact on those who read them. 

For the past 24 Sundays my husband has heard the same words: “I am going to stop blogging.”

Why on Sunday? No. 1, Catholic guilt. No. 2, Catholic guilt: I feel shallow and superficial parading my picture on the “About Me” page and my passion for beauty and fashion through the blogosphere.

But Monday arrives and so do the emails. One of my readers has left me an email with regard to the post about anorexia and bulimia, thanking me for helping her rethink her life of vomiting after every meal. A woman dying of breast cancer shares with me her courageous battle with her breasts. A mom whose son suffers from Asperger’s Syndrome writes a genuine thank-you note for the online gift certificate she won from Girl-Woman because she now can shop in the privacy of her home without worrying about her son’s Asperger-induced impatience while shopping in a department store. So I once again get all psyched up for the week and write about beauty products reviewed or style tips and an occasional self-help article.

A month ago, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia (which I am having trouble putting my brain around — pun intended — because it’s such a nebulous disease). Bulging discs at most levels of my spine have caused chronic pain syndrome, which, in turn, allegedly rewired my brain.

Five days ago, I was diagnosed, at a minimum, with essential tremors and possible multiple sclerosis. Although it’s a learning curve, for the most part, I just shake, rattle and roll with the punches.

Two days ago, I had a brain MRI. In my brain, I imagined the radiologist saying, “Hey, Walter. Look at the picture of this woman’s brain. In place of her hypothalamus is a black and pink Sephora store. Jeez, Walter. In her left cerebral hemisphere is Nordstrom. OMG, Walt, her cerebellum is shaped like a Louboutin shoe!”

Today is Sunday. Was my husband going to hear the same, old words that he had heard for 24 previous Sundays? No. On the 25th Sunday, I cheerfully said to The Hubster, “I love writing the blog! I would miss connecting with my readers. They motivate me and inspire me to be a better person. Maybe the way they handled their personal obstacles with grace prepared me for my new level of normal.”

Tomorrow is Monday. I won’t give up the fight to help girls and women feel comfortable in their skin, whether it be through a new beauty product or an updated style or a new lifestyle. If I impact the lives of any girl or woman in my blogging lifetime, whether it be their health issues, fashion issues, or beauty issues, then I have done my job well.

So on Monday, like Arnold Schwarzenegger in the Terminator, “I will be baack.”

With heartfelt thanks for sharing your amazing lives with me,
Beckie

One response to “Partner Post: Inspiring Readers

  1. Pingback: the reader

Leave a Reply

